Tags

, , , , , , , ,

11954347971257474345littleimp_john_olsen_01-svg-thumb

Got your attention? The first time that I truly perused Matthew 4:1-11 I knew that I had to start diligently reading and studying my bible. The passage begins with the Holy Spirit leading Christ into the desert to be tempted by the devil. The devil does appear after Christ has fasted for 40 days and nights. He is hungry, and the devil strikes when he believes Christ is in a weakened state. How wrong Satan was on that count! Then the devil quotes scripture, specifically Psalm 91:11-12, urging Christ to use His power to save Himself. Jesus reminds him that it is also written not to put God to the test. Satan tries for a third time and is again rebuked by Christ. Defeated,  Satan leaves Him and Christ is attended by angels. The fact that the devil was able to quote scripture was all I needed to convict me. If Satan knows the Word and can use it to confuse me, I need to know it in order to withstand his attacks. Read this encounter once again and examine yourself honestly. Without scripture to sustain you, how will you ever be able to keep Satan at bay?

experience-the-power-md