Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

John 3:30  He must increase, but I must decrease.

ego_tnb

Our society tends to focus on the individual and encourages us to put ourselves first. It’s important to have a good self concept, but the Christian life is one of humility and putting others before ourselves as Christ did when He died on the cross for all our sins. The song “My Way”,  written by Paul Anka in the 1960’s and first performed by Frank Sinatra, has long been an all time favorite of many. It has always struck a wrong chord with me. I heard a braggard boasting about a life devoted to himself. “I did it my way” is the common refrain. In fact, the word “I” is used sixteen times, the contraction “I’ve” is there six times, the contractions “I’ll” and I’m” are both used twice,  and “my” appears nine times! Yes, we live in a “me, myself and I” world. There’s even a much newer song entitled just that, “Me, Myself and I”, that was recorded by Beyonce. The lyrics of that hit are crude and obscene, but also focus on self gratification above all else. How about we think of GOD’S WAY? Life is not all about us. We were created by a loving Father and need to remember Paul’s admonition in Ephesians 4:22-24 to”put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.” It’s a daily struggle and speaks to the need to listen to Christian music also. We have to immerse ourselves in scripture and constantly strive to follow Christ’s example as we attempt to co-exist with the secular world. It may not be easy at times, but it is definitely worth it.  Our future in eternity awaits us!