Tags

, , , ,

1 Peter 4:10 (NIV)  Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.

The Lord has given different gifts or talents to each one of us. My artistic abilities are severely limited, but I truly appreciate the artistic capabilities of others. During our July trip to our cabin,  my husband and I had the opportunity to visit a pottery workshop in Laurel Springs, North Carolina.

I’m going to take a slight detour before I share this visit with you. God works in unusual ways. It causes me to smile as I think about the way God brings people into our lives. We’d been blessed last August by meeting a young man, Tyler Smith, who helped us with his landscaping talents. Our talk wandered to our Christian faith, and Tyler invited us to attend church with him. Yes, I see God’s hand so clearly now. We attended Tyler’s church and met his wife, Jessie. Tyler mentioned that she was a potter, and I promised we would visit her one day.

DSCN0253

Now we fast forward to July. I was determined to see Jessie and her workshop, especially after having viewed some of her work displayed in a Facebook post. I’d spotted a platter that she’d created. It appealed to me both in color and in the message it spoke to my heart. Back in 2002, I’d been a mentoring mom in a Motherwise bible study at our church. Our study was focused on John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit. For apart from Me you can do nothing.” Oh, that platter had to have been made for me. I considered calling Jessie and asking her to reserve it but just never got around to doing so. BUT God was at work!

When I called to arrange our visit, Jessie (www.facebook.com/Potterybyjes) mentioned that she’d sold most of her inventory but would still welcome us. She also shared that some of her work was being offered by The Posh Fox in Roaring Gap, NC and also by The Mustard Seed Cafe in Sparta. Jim and I stopped at The Mustard Seed (love that name!) on the way to see Jessie AND THERE IT WAS!!! MY PLATTER!!! Praise God! For me it was a sign that it was truly meant to be mine.

(to be continued)