Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

01

The peace I once so loved at our home in Conway was rudely disrupted this spring due to problems with a neighbor’s relative. I yearned to go to our mountain home and escape the daily annoyance I was finding so disquieting. Peace was eluding me, and I was allowing myself to be angry and stressed out by a situation that was out of my control. I prayed for comfort, strength, understanding,  and compassion, but I was frustrated and wanted or needed to escape what had become like a prison for me. Our Glade Valley cabin was a place where I hoped to regain my peace.

Peace and quiet, solitude, and freedom for our pets to wander were all awaiting us upon our arrival. I thanked God for bringing us to this “piece of heaven on earth.” I also asked Him to help me deal with my heart and lead me to restoration of peace. I truly wished we could move there permanently, but other concerns made this idea impossible. Would I find the answer for which I so dearly yearned?

Searching His Word, I first found Paul advising in Ephesians 2:14 that Christ Himself is our peace. Yes, Christ was the answer! My focus had become on the problem instead of on the answer. The peace I sought was still there only I was allowing myself to become blinded by the wrong emotions living in my heart. Where were the fruits of the Spirit? They were buried under a pile of anger and bitterness.

As the time came for us to return to our Conway home, I dreaded it but knew that we had no choice. I was so thankful for the time we’d had to rest and recuperate. Yes, Christ was the answer. I already knew that He would never have reacted as I had to the situation, but I’m still a work in progress. Aren’t we all?

We’ve been home now for almost a week and I’ve been determined to keep my focus on our Lord and His Word. My revelation came today as I read John 14:27. Christ is our peace and He’s given it to us. His love is all we need and peace is there as long as we give it all to Him. We are shaken when we let our hearts be troubled and let fear get a foothold. As long as my focus is Christ Jesus I am at peace. Thank You, Lord, for speaking so clearly to me today. May I hold Your message in my heart and praise Your Holy Name!