Isaiah 26:3 You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in You.

Ever feel lost or in danger of sinking as situations arise that try your patience? Lately I’ve been assailed by negative feelings toward a neighbor. At times, I’ve almost wanted to pack my bags and leave home. My husband and I had a peaceful existence and suddenly it’s not like that anymore. How wonderful it would be if we could relocate to a remote desert island! Leave behind the world and it’s distractions and live in a bubble. Perfect peace, but not very feasible or realistic to say the least!

island_with_a_coconut_tree_310883

As a Christian,  I know I should feel joy and peace in all situations. In light of my eternal home, why do I allow minor problems to get under my skin? Because my focus is shifting from Christ Jesus, the Word, and prayer. When I feel myself slipping into a place of disruption and unrest, I need to go to the Lord in prayer and search His Word. When I do, I find the peace that can never be taken from me.  My balance is restored as I meditate on His Word and am reminded of His many promises. I am assured a permanent home in eternity as a child of God! How blessed I am! I may be in the world, but I don’t have to be of the world. God’s strength will carry me through any problem along with His armor (Ephesians 6:10-18). My peace is secured by my Father’s love for me. Rest in His love with me and be renewed! Perfect peace is found not in the world but in faith, steadfast belief, devotion, and loyalty to our God.