Tags

, , ,

Our South Carolina home sits on land that is a challenge to my gardening skills. Much of it is quite sandy and, even with topsoil added, it drains very quickly and is not conducive to plants that I have cultivated elsewhere. When I heard of the Mexican hydrangea and its ability to spread rapidly over an area, I knew I would give it a try. Three summers ago, I planted my new treasure and waited to see if it would be successful. It didn’t do much the first year, but it came back the next summer and three new shoots appeared close by it. Last summer, a few more plants appeared in late spring and I was happy that it was thriving, but I doubted it would ever bloom. Imagine my surprise this year when I noticed three blossoms developing on the plants! As these blossoms get ready to bloom my joy continues to grow also. My Mexican hydrangea is a  keeper!

DSCN0189

My patience was rewarded. This caused me to think of that very quality, actually a fruit of the Spirit, which I need to cultivate in myself. Our Heavenly Father is forever patient with us. Help me, dear Lord, to be as patient with others as You are with me. Empower me to hold this scripture from Colossians 3:12-13 in my heart: “Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another …” May I grow in patience and bloom for others to see Your love through me in Jesus’ name, I pray. AMEN