Tags

, , ,

We’ve had a visitor appear daily at our dining room window over the past few weeks. She is very persistent and wants something. At times she moves on to our bedroom window and the knocking continues. She is quite determined and doesn’t seem at all fazed that we ignore her. I wish I could invite her inside, but she is one of God’s creatures, an Orchard Oriole, and belongs outside, free to roam and enjoy life.DSCN0181

Her appearance and dedication to this task led me to reconsider my attitude toward prayer and my service to the Lord. I thought of Matthew 7:7-8, beginning “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” Often when I pray and present a request to our Heavenly Father I mention it and then let it go. I don’t expect an immediate response and realize that the answer may be yes or no or not now, but I don’t persist in my request. I have a tendency to give up or decide that maybe what I’m asking or doing isn’t in God’s plan for me. Perhaps I need to be more like our little bird and just keep knocking until the Lord reveals what He has in store for me.