Tags

, , , , ,

John 19:2a  The soldiers twisted together a crown of thorns and put it on His head.

Matthew 27:29  And after twisting together a crown of thorns, they put it on His head, and a reed in His right hand.

My grandfather had a crown of thorns plant when I was a small child, and I was warned not to touch it because of the long sharp thorns. The pretty red blossoms attracted me but the sharp spikes all over it kept me at bay. I never saw another one until a UMW plant sale about ten years ago. When I noticed the three inch cutting, I quickly purchased it. I had found a treasure!

The small plant was nurtured carefully by me, and I took on the task of seeing if I could encourage it to grow to the height of those in Jerusalem. There the plant usually reached a height of about five feet. It took about five years for it to reach its present height of almost that exactly. I keep it in our house during the winter and then it spends about six months outside in  full sun. Evidently this pattern has caused it to flourish.

DSCN0171

The thorns are about an inch in length and I can’t envision them being pressed into my scalp. I’m always careful when we move the plant; it can easily cause pain! Imagine the way the soldiers used this plant to ridicule and try to humiliate Christ. Less painful then the nails they drove into the cross, but a statement meant to deride the “King of the Jews.”

The red blossoms remind me of the blood shed by Christ on the cross, and they appear year round. Thus, the plant itself is an ever present reminder of the price our Lord and Savior paid for my sins and for the sins of all believers! His was the perfect sacrifice which paid our sin debt in full. No greater love exists! How blessed we are!

DSCN0169