Tags

, , , , , , ,

icon029

Jeopardy is my favorite game show on TV. I have watched it for years and it has never lost its appeal. Today as I considered the topic of my new post I thought of playing Bible Jeopardy. It would be very easy though because the answer is always “prayer.” Impossible? Not if you ask these questions:

What do you do when you are so upset that you can’t even think?

How should you begin every day?    coffee_and_a_prayer

How do you deal with fear, anger, hurt feelings, the loss of a loved one?

How do you cope with the diagnosis of cancer?

How do you thank our Heavenly Father?

I could go on and on, but I think you get the message. No matter what we face in our daily life, the answer for Christians should be to take it to the Lord in prayer. This thought was so aptly expressed in one of my favorite hymns, “What a Friend We Have In Jesus,” written by Joseph Scriven in the mid 1800s. He reminded us “O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear, all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”

Prayer011Talk to the Lord about everything. He is the best friend and listener that you will ever have. Sometimes you may feel He is the only friend that you have. Nothing is too difficult or impossible for Him

Scripture tells us to “pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17) and to “devote ourselves to prayer” (Colossians 4:2). It must be a conscious decision on our part to pray. The more we pray, the closer we get to God. What could be better?