Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I had to tell myself just that this morning! I wasn’t sure when I stopped posting a month ago whether or not it would be permanent or not. Of course, I’ve prayed for God’s guidance and I’ve remained focused on His Word, but I just received my answer early this morning. Praise God for His timing!

Groundhog Day was part of my inspiration. Honestly, I can look back over the past month and see that like that furry creature I was burrowed deep in my thoughts and secluded from the world. Recently, in South Carolina, we’ve been blessed with a few days of bright sunshine and warm temperatures. Saturday’s sunshine inspired me to get active again, in terms of the blog and in living each day to the fullest.

The Lord always brings something to me just when I need it most. I read another blogger’s post and realized that part of my problem was not living in the present. Some of us live in the past but my problem is trying to plan ahead for the future and not living in the present day. I think back to some of the plans I made as a young adult and smile as I see how the Lord influenced me to take a different path. I think of the seed planted by my mom as she insisted that I attend Sunday School and be confirmed. It is only in the past few years that I have truly come to appreciate that grounding in faith which her insistence made possible.

The Lord’s light always drew me back. This past weekend it was the physical warmth that touched my very soul and made me yearn to serve again with all my heart. My hibernation, sabbatical, vacation (call it what you will) is over. I came out of my burrow, looked around, saw the Lord’s creation in all its beauty and, unlike the groundhog wasn’t frightened. No, I choose life and rededicate myself to His service.

As Paul prayed in Ephesians 1:18, so I pray for myself and all of my readers that our hearts be enlightened to know the hope to which He has called us and the riches of His glorious inheritance. Let’s let go of the past (see Samuel 16:1) and not worry about tomorrow (see Matthew 6:34). Trust in the Lord to provide and live each day as it appears!

“This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24