Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Psalm 65:11 You crown the year with your bounty, and your carts overflow with abundance.

I gave up making New Year’s resolutions a long time ago, but as my faith strengthened I began to look at what I might do to improve my journey with the Lord. Now I ponder what I can do in the year ahead to grow closer to Him. This year I have resolved (firmly determined to do something) to praise God more. He has been so good to me and I need to share His wondrous blessings with others. This blog is my witness to what He has made possible for none of this could have been accomplished through my own efforts.

David wrote Psalm 65 so very long ago, but it as fresh and vital today as it was then. It begins with praise. “Praise awaits you, our God, in Zion; to you our vows will be fulfilled. You who answer prayer, to you all people will come. When we were overwhelmed by sins, you forgave our transgressions. Blessed are those you choose and bring near to live in your courts! We are filled with the good things of your house, of your holy temple.” (verses 1-4)  

God, our loving Father, is always there for us. I can’t fathom how anyone can survive in this tumultuous world without faith. I still get “lost” because I  look through my own eyes at times instead of relying on the eyes of God. Just a few days ago I began fretting over a message from a friend. I discussed my concerns with my husband, letting my mind go wild with suppositions. I prayed for the Lord’s guidance though and His assistance in dealing with the problem. Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God”, reset my balance. When I spoke with my friend, I found my fears to be unfounded and realized that what I had supposed was out of my control anyway. Yes, Lord, I need to stop thinking I have to come up with answers to the world’s problems and hand over everything to you.

SO, today, the first day of 2016, I praise His Holy Name and thank Him for adopting me into His family with Christ Jesus as my brother and the Holy Spirit as my guide. Maybe I need to adopt the word FOCUS as my word to hold in my heart to guide me through the year ahead. Focus on God and leave everything to Him! Praise His Holy Name and His love for His creation! Join me as we begin anew again!