Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Matthew 2:11 And when they were come into the house, they saw the young child with Mary his mother, and fell down, and worshiped him; and when they had opened their treasures, they presented unto him gifts: gold, and frankincense and myrrh.

three-wise-men

 

During the Christmas season,  we spend much of our time trying to discover and then locate the perfect gift for each person on our list. We want to touch that person’s heart and show our love for him or her by selecting that special item.

This year I couldn’t help but think back to that first Christmas so very long ago. The Magi or wise men brought three gifts to the Christ child, but the real story has been corrupted  by artistic license. That is, there were three gifts and so we assume there were three wise men. In actuality we don’t really know the number of wise men who traveled to see this special child. They also didn’t arrive shortly after the baby’s birth in the stable. Rather they came when the Christ child was probably about two or three years old.

We need to focus on the fact that they brought their gifts to honor  “the king of the Jews” or the Messiah of whom they had heard tell. Their search led them to question King Herod. They knew this child was destined for greatness. BUT THEY BROUGHT HIM GIFTS! These were gifts fit for royalty. Now I ask you as I asked myself as I studied this scripture, “What will you bring as a gift for Christ Jesus?” Think of what you can do regarding service or Bible study or less time on social media. I want to find that special gift that will truly please my Lord and Savior. I believe He’s leading me to deeper study of His Word and more sharing via my blog. I know it will become clear as I search with all my heart. May the Lord bless all our efforts to find the special gift we can give Him this year.