Tags

, , , , ,

Wednesday, November 11th, is the day set aside as a national holiday to honor those who have served in any branch of the United States military. My personal history includes my maternal grandfather, who served in the Army in World War I; my father, who served in the Army during World War II; my first husband, who served in the Navy during the early 1960’s; my stepson who served as career Navy from 1983 to 2008; and my present husband who served in the Air Force, Army and Navy beginning in 1954. I am proud of their service to our country as I am proud of all those who have served in the past or are serving today! Some were drafted and some volunteered, but all gave a portion of their lives to uphold the freedoms we are blessed with in this great nation. It is appropriate that we honor that service and give thanks to them as well as thanks to the Lord above for their sacrifice, made so that we all can live in freedom. May the Lord continue to bless the United States of America and all who serve the cause of freedom!