Tags

, , , ,

John 14:2,4 “My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? …You know the way to the place where I am going.”

Many churches in the South, especially, have homecoming celebrations in the fall. These services celebrate the past history of the local church as well as welcome home congregants who have moved away. Previous pastors are often welcomed back to the body of Christ that loved them dearly in years gone by. Old friendships are stoked back into life, and the joy of Christian fellowship is celebrated anew at meals served after the worship service. Homecoming is, therefore, a time for looking back, reflecting on our Christian walk in the body of Christ, and renewing or strengthening our faith.

As I thought about the two invitations my husband and I have received this year, I couldn’t help but think of another homecoming, the one promised to us as believers in Christ Jesus. Think of the preparation that goes into our homecoming festivities at local churches and privately at our homes as we make plans for large Thanksgiving gatherings. Let’s all take some time today to reflect on the homecoming our Heavenly Father has prepared for us when we leave this earthly home to take our place in eternity. Oh, what a glorious affair it will be!