Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ecclesiastes 3:1-2 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot

Autumn is almost upon us. We mark the beginning as next Wednesday, September 23rd, but God’s creatures are already preparing for the change. The garden on the side of my house has lost its summer glow. The mountain spider lilies were reduced to bare stalks as were the perennial hibiscus. The leaves have fallen from the Japanese quince, and acorns are falling from the oaks. It was time to pull the bare stalks yesterday and gather the last seeds for planting in the spring. The hummingbirds are active as they prepare to depart for their winter home. It’s a sad time in some ways, a time to say goodbye or uproot, but there’s always the promise of next year. God is in control and life will go on as He planned.

As I worked in the garden yesterday, I couldn’t help but think of the things we need to uproot in our lives. Squirrels are storing nuts to carry them through the winter. What am I doing personally in this time of uprooting? Perhaps, no, not perhaps, but certainly, it is time for me to do some uprooting. Time to get rid of the dead things in my life like time wasted being concerned with things outside of my control (remember the Serenity Prayer!), clothes that might be donated to Goodwill as well as books and “treasures” that would bring a smile to someone else, a fresh look at my devotional and prayer time, and so much more. Time to prepare my heart for what God has in store for me in the next season. Time to stop resisting change and let the Master Gardener do His work in me. Help me clean up my life, dear Lord, and prepare for the next season You have planned in my life!