Tags

, , , , , ,

Colossians 1:16 For by Him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities-all things were created through Him and for Him.

As a believer, I try to be careful in the words I use when speaking or writing. Words like lucky and coincidence have been exiled from my vocabulary. If I receive an unexpected benefit, it’s not because of luck but because the Lord has seen fit to bless me. It may be as simple as the sight of a hummingbird or as mind boggling as the avoidance of an accident. The shooting two weeks ago outside our motel window could have taken Jim’s life or mine. We weren’t lucky because we were spared. No, indeed, the Lord protected us. We were blessed with the gift of life continuing for both of us!

A few years ago, I heard a pastor mention a coincidence that occurred in his life. I was so disappointed to hear that word. My faith in God’s omnipotence assures me that coincidences do not exist. God is in control and things do not just mysteriously come together. Let’s look at Webster’s definition for coincidence first: a situation in which events happen at the same time in a way that is not planned or expected, or the occurrence of events that happen at the same time by accident but seem to have some connection. Really? When we needed a plumber to stop our leak and I called asking a friend for the name of a plumber, it was no coincidence that he was visiting with a relative who was a plumber. I saw God’s hand in the occasion. It was providence! That is, it was due to God’s divine guidance or care (again from Webster’s).

Feeling lucky or fortunate today? Not I! As a child of God, I am truly blessed and know that He is in control. I am in His Hands and He will not allow me to be tested beyond my ability to endure.