Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

James 1:17 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.

Malachi 3:6 I the Lord do not change.

Our favorite place for good Southern home cooking in Sparta, NC is Brown’s Restaurant. The owners and serving staff aim to please, and they have never failed us in the seven years we have frequented the establishment. Earlier this year, I noticed a plaque hanging behind the register and read the opening line. It appeared to be a prayer. On the way home, I mentioned to Jim that it would be a good opportunity to share the words on my blog.

Our first meal out this trip, I made it a point to bring pencil and paper to copy it. Well, this is what I found (I should know better than to assume something):

May those that love us, love us.

 And those that don’t love us,

May God turn their hearts.

And if he doesn’t turn their hearts,

May he turn their ankles,

So we’ll know them by their limping.

Oh, no! I thought I can’t post this! Obviously it’s not a prayer! I was so disappointed by my error, but decided to go ahead and do a computer search on the words. My discovery? It’s an Irish drinking toast and that explains a lot! I surely couldn’t use it on my blog.

As I continued to chastise myself for making this crazy assumption, I was led to write about my mistake anyway. How many times do we all think something is good, appropriate, or useful and it turns out to be something entirely different. Friends may disappoint us, holiday expectations don’t live up to those in our dreams, or a product is worthless. Our hopes or plans are dashed, but the experience reminded me that there is only one person/entity upon which we can depend. Our Father God is immutable as is Christ Jesus and the Holy Spirit. They are the same yesterday, today and tomorrow, always! No one else is or ever will be.