Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hebrews 13:5-6 …  be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Feeling alone or discouraged with life? We all have days when things aren’t going right. Sometimes it’s not just a disappointing day, it’s a season of disruption and unrest. That’s the time when we are most likely to succumb to the lures of Satan.

For me the night has always been the most difficult time. The darkness seems to envelop me. I can remember as a child being afraid to go down into the basement alone, but only at night. It was okay if my mom or dad was with me or even just a friend my own age. There was a light at the top of the stairs, but that didn’t help if I allowed the fear to begin. It’s absolutely ridiculous, but I can still feel a shakiness in my being if I am ruminating over a problem and it’s nighttime! Quoting Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God,” is all the reassurance I need to get me back on track. God is in control and all is right with the world!

Satan knows our weaknesses and when the moment is ripe for an attack. When we’ve lost a loved one or had a life altering event occur, he is waiting to pounce and devour us. But we are children of the Light! Christ said in John 8:12 ” I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” As believers, we have powerful weapons to enable us to walk through the landmines of life, but we have to be aware of them and use them.

When Christ died on the cross for our sins, He didn’t leave us. He gave us the Holy Spirit to be our guide and comforter, living within us. Look at the the Holy Spirit as your backbone, giving you strength when you feel ready to cave in to the pressures of this world. Go to God’s Word, a powerful double-edged sword, to cut through the worldly mire that surrounds us. How can anyone attack, be it Satan or a worldly foe, when we have the power, the mind of Christ, within us if we but use it? Arm yourself with scripture. Satan knows scripture (Luke 4:1-13) and he twists it to suit himself. Study God’s Word so you can be prepared to use it when you are going through a valley of indecision or feeling alone, deserted by friends and family. God will never leave or forsake you. He is the perfect Father who loves us unconditionally and has given us the tools to walk through this life on earth. Carry this verse with you from Psalm 119:105 “Your Word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”

We need to remind and encourage ourselves as well as our brothers and sisters in Christ. Alone? It can never happen if you love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind and soul. Be prepared to fight back when doubt or fear tries to creep in and consume you. Carry and use your concealed weapons each and every day!