Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I ask that question because I used to check horoscopes daily in the newspaper. I would read mine and then the ones for those I loved. Supposedly I was doing this for entertainment since I didn’t believe in their accuracy. At least, that’s what I told myself. Then I was blessed to become part of a large bible-based community bible study. Our leader shared with us that following horoscopes was contrary to God’s will. Wow! I hadn’t any idea about that fact since my knowledge of scripture then was very limited. I became convicted when I read Deuteronomy 18:10-13 (ESV). “There shall not be found among you anyone who burns his son or daughter as an offering, anyone who practices divination or tells fortunes or interprets omens, or a sorcerer or a charmer or a medium or a necromancer or one who inquires of the dead, for whoever does these things is an abomination to the Lord.”

After reading God’s Word regarding fortune telling, which is an accurate description of what horoscopes attempt to do, I tried to continue on with my folly. I rationalized that since I didn’t believe in it, it was pure entertainment! Slowly I came to understand that this “entertainment” was first and foremost an offense to God. What was I thinking? It was also a waste of my time. How much more could I accomplish by devoting this daily time to prayer, in building my relationship with My Heavenly Father? Only God knows the future, and it is His business, not ours! I was convicted!

This past month I received two posts on Facebook by Christian friends regarding horoscopes. I wondered why they bothered to post something that was opposed to our Christian beliefs. Perhaps, like me a few years ago, they were unaware. I decided to comment on the posts, saying that I didn’t participate in reading horoscopes because it was against scriptural advice. No response was made by either person, but I have not received any more sharings regarding horoscopes and astrological signs. Praise God!

Still not convinced? Christ told us in Matthew 6:26 (NIV) “… do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Rather than worry about things we have no control over, we are advised in 1 Peter 5:7 “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” That’s good advice, scriptural advice. We need to take it to heart and take our troubles to him, lay them at the foot of the cross and leave them there. Remember God is in control. He has all the peace we will ever need. He is our refuge. Take everything to Him in prayer and relax in His arms.