Tags

, , , , , ,

My husband, Jim, gets credit for this post. Last week I returned from grocery shopping and asked him to guess the cost of an item. He rarely accompanies me to shop and has missed the ever rising prices except when I occasionally complain. This time I wasn’t complaining so much as wanting to make him aware of the increase. There are certain items that I buy without really checking prices because they are staples, items that I buy no matter what. Among these are milk and eggs. Milk has been fairly steady over the past few years, ranging between three and four dollars a gallon, but eggs have zoomed!

I can remember back to the mid 1960’s when my parents and I would travel to our property in upstate New York in the summer. We would pass a house in the country that offered eggs for sale from a cooler by the side of the road. This was still based on the honor system, and you would leave the 50 cents per dozen in the box provided. Before we left home, my mom would get orders from the neighbors and we would purchase the eggs on our return trip. Everyone looked forward to receiving the fresh country eggs. Fast forward to 2015 (yes, fifty years later) and the price in grocery stores has risen to over $3.00). Guess that’s not bad for fifty years, but I can remember buying them only a few years ago for about $1.25 a dozen.

Jim’s comment upon listening to all this was that he had an idea for a great post for me: “Prices keep rising, but salvation is still free!” I liked his comment and decided to go with it today. We are offered salvation as a gift from God due to His grace. There is no charge and there never will be! Read the words of Ephesians 2:8-9, “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith — and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God — not by works, so that no one can boast.”

Christ paid the price for our salvation by His death on the cross. He redeemed us by His blood sacrifice and freed us from sin and death. We are given the gift of salvation due to God’s love for us, His grace, which knows no bounds. We are adopted into God’s family and as His children, we are promised eternal life with Him in heaven! Share the good news! Salvation is still free!