Tags

, , , , ,

Our churches are being assailed by Satan causing disruption from within the body of Christ itself. The full extent of his joy at creating disruption among brothers and sisters in Christ can only be imagined. I wrote the following poem for the unity we should hold in our hearts as we serve the Lord.

                                                    UNITY:

                                                  Under God

                                                  Nurturing one another

                                                  In one accord

                                                  Together

                                                  Eternally

                                                  Dedicated to Christ

The scripture I have found most helpful are:

Colossians 3:14 “And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.”

1 Peter 3:8 “Finally, all of you, have unity of mind, sympathy, brotherly love, a tender heart, and a humble mind.”

Psalm 133:1 “Behold, how good and pleasant it is when brothers dwell in unity.”

I returned from church this Sunday in tears. My perception of something that happened there had truly hurt me. I focused on the Book of James (chapter 3) and his teaching on guarding the tongue. For a few hours, I thought it was odd that the Lord had laid this topic on my heart on Saturday, but as I made myself finish this post, get the scripture needed to strengthen me/us when Satan attacks, and proofread, I began to see that God had me just where I needed to be. Satan shot his arrows this AM, but God had begun to prepare me beforehand by reminding me of previous hurts, how I dealt with them through His guidance, and the healing His Word can bring if we but open our hearts. Dear, dear Lord God, how can I ever thank You and praise You enough. You know my heart and you saved me from losing my focus on You and Your love for ALL of US! As in our human families, feelings get hurt within the body of Christ, but if we focus on love for God and one another, we can remain united. His love binds us all together. Praise His Holy Name!