Tags

, , ,

“Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise – the fruit of lips that confess His Name.” Hebrews 13:15

HPIM0127 (2)

The first full week of June and the Lord blessed my effort to have some homegrown tomatoes! As soon as I spied the ripening fruit, I offered praise to His Name! What a blessing! I couldn’t wait to run inside and share the good news with Jim. I think we were both anticipating the first BLT sandwich of the season. For true tomato lovers, the news couldn’t be any better. The older I get the more I appreciate the simple things in life, and I thank God for opening my eyes to the beauty all around us.

My joy is compounded by the fact that this first fruit is not as easy to produce as you might think. I used to take tomatoes for granted until we moved to our property in Horry County in 2001. I had never heard of the tobacco wilt virus, which infects many plants other than tobacco, before coming here. It makes gardening a challenge. My only success has been with container gardening. Tobacco wilt infects the soil so each year I purchase new soil and there are only two types of tomato plants that have been developed that are resistant to tobacco wilt. I find myself praying more and more for the Lord’s guidance and blessing of my efforts. Well, He has certainly answered those prayers in the crop forming this year.

I don’t think I would have valued the bounty of these plants as much as I do without the problem of tobacco wilt virus. Sometimes the stumbling blocks that occur in life help us to appreciate the things we take for granted. Sometimes I take God for granted, and I’m trying to do better. Throughout my day, Lord, “open my lips that my mouth may declare Your praise.” (Psalm 51:15) Truly I appreciate all You supply!