Tags

, ,

HPIM0098Are you worried about something that is outside of your control? I can remember being so upset when a dear friend was experiencing problems with her stepdaughter. I sympathized with her having had similar problems with my stepson years before. My frustration came into being because I wanted to be able to step in and do something to ease her stress and bring her instant relief. Of course, I couldn’t. All I could do was to pray for God to intervene on her behalf. We experience so much distress because we want to help, and I guess, “play God.”

My mind was directed to the lesson Christ gave in Luke 12:27, regarding the lilies and how they grow. “They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.” God is in control and He knows what is best for all living things. We need to be still and let Him put His healing touch on the situation.  He will provide!

There is a flower that grows on the forest land across from our home in Conway, SC. I have observed it for over ten years and marveled at its beauty. Each spring it appears and blossoms in early May. This year I posted a picture of it on Facebook, requesting help from my friends. In five minutes, I was told that it was known as “butterfly weed.” I could then see how the blossom resembled that of the butterfly bush that many of us plant to attract butterflies. I also thought how this plant survived from year to year, disappearing after the  cold of winter and reappearing as spring progressed. No one tended to it, watered it or fertilized it, but each year it greeted me again with its beautiful blooms. Oh, but it was tended. The Lord provided for it!  Yes, we need to give our worries over to God. Christ clearly stated in Luke 12:29-31, “And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink;  do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things and your Father knows that you need them. But seek His Kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.”

We need to remove ourselves from the world and worldly ways and focus on Christ and His teachings. God will provide for us if we have faith and trust in Him. He created us, and He will care for us just as He cares for the lilies or wildflowers. Rid yourself of stress and give it to God. He is the answer to all our problems. Take it to the Lord in prayer and leave it with Him!