During the past week, we’ve witnessed a second earthquake in Nepal and a horrendous train wreck in Philadelphia. The world is in turmoil or so it seems to me. Our own country is plagued with distrust, and innocent people are being killed for no justifiable reason. Without God in my life, I don’t know how I could bear it. I always find comfort in the Psalms.

My favorite image of God. my Father, is the Rock as referenced in Psalm 18:2, “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.” I’m safe because He is protecting me. He’s rock solid and nothing can penetrate Him and get to me if I but keep my faith focused on Him and His love. Safe ,secure and loved! We serve an awesome God.

There are fifty-nine references to God being a rock according to my search engine. When I get upset or start to lose my footing, I know His Word will supply my needs. Psalm 62:6 reminds me that “He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken.” I don’t know who has your back, but with the Lord as my rock I don’t need anyone else. I have the supreme answer to any problem, disaster or heartache that may arise. He truly is my rock of refuge to which I can always go (see Psalm 71:3). I have my quiver full of verses that bolster and sustain me when I start to feel shaken. Come to my Rock with me and find His peace that passes all understanding. His arms are outstretched. All you have to do is let them enfold you!