Tags

I read a post earlier today about the grass always being greener on the other side of the fence. It seems in our world today that we are always searching for something. Usually it has to do with an improved version of something we already possess. Even our bodies are subject to this yearning when we consider the plastic surgeries some people resort to in an effort to improve their image. Sometimes the attempts to improve result in horrible consequences. Rather than achieving a better appearance one may be left with a frozen countenance not anything like what was hoped for.

Could it be that we are searching for the wrong thing? Why aren’t we satisfied with what we have? I think it’s because we are out of focus with God. It brought to my mind Matthew 6:25-34, where we are told not to worry about our life, our food or drink, our body or  what we wear. We are counseled to “seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well (verse 33).” I can remember a time in my life shortly after I had relocated to South Carolina to teach. A relationship I was in had come to a dead end, and I thought it was the end of the world for me. I was drowning in self pity and had even seen a doctor, who prescribed an antidepressant to help me get over my sorrow. Asking God for help had not even occurred to me. Although I considered myself to be a Christian, I was truly lost and floundering at the time. But God knew my need, and He used a few of my sixth grade students at the time to get through to me. I’d taken my first dose of the prescribed medicine on a Friday night and lost touch with the world. I awoke late on Saturday morning for me. It was 10:00 AM and I never slept past seven or eight. What awoke me was the ringing of my apartment doorbell. I’d forgotten I’d promised to take the three young boys to register for Little League! My eyes were red from crying. I’d awoken earlier but cried myself back to sleep. Well, I answered the door and invited them in for a few minutes while I got myself together. One of the boys having seen my messed up face asked if something was wrong. His friend commented that I had everything anyone could want so how could I be upset. Wow, that was a reality check for me! In their eyes I did have everything, but I didn’t have love. Only I was looking for the wrong kind of love. I needed to find God’s love for me first and welcome it into my heart. My heavenly Father loved me enough to snatch me back from the arms of depression. I never took another pill and I decided to get on with life. I also joined the Baptist church in town and began a closer walk with the Father who loved me even though I’d strayed.

My journey has hit many bumps in the road since then, even a few craters, but the closer my walk gets to Christ the stronger I become in my faith. God’s love is the answer to all our feelings of loss or abandonment. He is the only true constant and when we truly put Him first everything else falls into place. Praise Him for his grace, mercy and love for His children!