I love to see God’s hand in things that happen to occur around me and I freely acknowledge the blessings He has so freely sent. I truly dislike the term coincidence, defined as “a remarkable concurrence of events, ideas, etc., apparently by mere chance” in my trustworthy Funk & Wagnalls Standard College Dictionary. It is a term much overused, in my opinion, and one that should be banned from Christian vocabulary. God is in control and He orders the things of the universe. I see His hand in what others attribute to fortune or chance.

Last week I happened to mention to Jim that the two crepe myrtles my dad had given us over ten years ago hadn’t bloomed in quite some time. I consider them to be fairly hardy plants and was thinking of doing some research online to determine if there was a problem that I might rectify. They seemed to be thriving but blooms had been absent and as we travelled I’d noticed all those blooming in others’ yards. In my mind, I know God was listening. You see when I came back from the mountains and walked past them on Monday I was greeted by a wonderful sight. The plant in front was just beginning to produce some blooms. I smiled and thought wait until I share this with Jim! I knew he would smile as I did. I thanked God for his blessing/gift of blossoms on a bush that had been barren for quite some time. It felt to me as though He was sharing a smile or gentle touch by acknowledging my comment. I know the buds were not visible to me when I left because I had searched for them right before we took off for the mountains. What a treasured gift!

This morning I was truly amazed by the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Others might say this was a “coincidence” but not me. I was wondering where I should go for a Scriptural message. Jim and I are still working our way through the psalms, but I needed to look for some other inspiration this morning. Proverbs immediately came to mind and then clearly my mind jumped to Proverbs 17:17. I thought this was really interesting since I usually just open randomly to the book the Lord has brought to my mind. I decided to go and see what this verse said, but first stopped to check my Kindle for e-mail. (Forgive me, Lord!) My devotional from Rick Warren had arrived and I decided to open it before resuming my search for Proverbs 17:17. The scripture he had chosen for today was Proverbs 17:17! I read his words with enthusiasm and promised myself I would focus on this message: “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.” (NIV) The New Living translation led me to a better understanding: “A friend is always loyal, and a brother is born to help in time of need.” I need to examine my relationships and I will. God is always there for me and I need to love others as He loves me! Thank you, dear Lord! May I continue to see Your Hand in my life!