A few years ago during a study of the Book of Revelation, I became aware of Revelation 5:8 – “…the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb. Each one had a harp and they were holding golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints.” I was so awed by the fact that God viewed our prayers as incense, sweet and fragrant, an offering to Him! It made me think of how thrilled parents are when they receive a communication from their children. It may be a phone call, an e-mail, a greeting card or even a text message. Parents love to hear from their children even when the news is not good. There’s that connection of love and compassion that surpasses everything else.

Remember the reaction of the father in the story of the prodigal son? His joy at having his son return to him was boundless.He didn’t care that the son had wasted his inheritance. He was thrilled that his son was alive and had come back home! Just so is our Father in heaven. He wants to hear from us and He wants to hear from us about everything. I can remember coming home from school as a child and relating the events of the day to my mother. It was a great opportunity to share with her and although our heavenly Father knows everything that is happening in our lives, He wants to hear it from us! We are told to pray without ceasing. I pray about the silliest, smallest things now because I truly believe the Lord enjoys hearing my thoughts be they requests for help with my computer challenges or healing for sick acquaintances. Nothing is too small or too big for Him. He loves us and loves to hear from us. This was reinforced for me as Jim and I began reading Psalm 141 daily in the mountains. We have continued to do. It reminds me of the armor of God and is David’s plea for protection from the wicked of this world as well as a reminder to watch what we say. Verse 2, “May my prayer be set before You like incense …,” reminded me that God values my/our prayers just as our human parents valued our communications. He never turns us off or hangs up as they might be tempted to or actually do. We are never alone. He is there!!!