The winter storms of 2014 have resulted in many power outages throughout our country. We have been blessed in that this past ice storm was the only one to cause us a loss of power for a little over twenty-four hours. It happened to be on my birthday so we celebrated that night with many candles and peanut butter and banana sandwiches, but no cake! One night of complete darkness did not bother me as much as I thought it might.

I have always been a person who craves light and the darkness of night usually compounds any problem I have. I vividly remember one night when Jim was hospitalized for a possible heart condition and I returned to our home for a bleak night alone. I wasn’t afraid but concerned for him and what the next day would bring. As I began to truly become more alarmed, I wanted to talk with someone but it was too late to call anyone. Of course, God doesn’t ever put us on “a don’t call me after nine P.M.” status. He is always there if we but reach out to Him. As I prayed for Jim’s health, I remembered my very favorite verse, Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.” Why was I becoming undone? God is in control now and forever, Jim is His child and God knows what is best for us! His arms were around me and I was comforted. I was able to sleep until daylight. When dawn came, I felt so much better and soon learned that Jim would be able to return home and his prognosis was good.

Maybe I’m a person of light in more ways than one. Yes, I love to be up as soon as dawn arrives. I don’t want to miss a piece of the day God has in store for me. The dark of night just feels so empty and foreboding. It closes in on me and my ability to freely contact others without disturbing their peace and time of rest, but He is always there. Perhaps I relate the darkness to Satan and the way he tries to invade my mind by planting seeds of doubt and anxiety. I need to focus on our Father and Creator and remember that, even in the dark of night, to walk in the Light of Him. 1 John 1:5 “… God is light, in Him there is no darkness at all.” Praise God for His faithfulness. He is our Rock and Redeemer!