It’s amazing that we try to teach our own children as well as students to respond with a Christian attitude by setting time limits  to accomplish the deed. Most adults would find these time limits unacceptable. This occurred in my classroom in the late ’90s and is still fresh in my mind. I’m thrilled that the outcome was positive, but wonder if adults would have been able to heal so quickly. My second grade class was entering with enthusiasm one morning when a “problem” student came up to me with a big smile, proudly displaying his brand new bracelet. I saw the WWJD on it, remarked on how nice it was and asked David if he knew what the letters meant. He looked at me as if I were absolutely out of it and said, “Yeah! What would Jesus do?” I was truly elated that he knew and hoped I would see a change in his behavior. Well, in a few minutes he had walked over and said something that reduced Jonathon to tears. I stormed over to reprimand him and request that he hand over the bracelet until he could act more appropriately. I delivered the reprimand but noticed that the bracelet was not on his arm. I decided not to mention it, but told him his recess would be taken away until he could sincerely apologize to Jonathon. David stayed in at recess which was at 1:30 PM and made no effort to rectify his situation. We dismissed at 2:30PM and time was growing short. I was so disappointed, but at 2:15PM David requested that he, Jonathon and I go into the hallway so that he could apologize and ask Jonathon for his forgiveness. Yes!! David sincerely delivered his regrets for his meanness that morning, they hugged and Jonathon returned to the room. Then, David looked up at me with a big grin and said, “Can I put the it back on now?” Wow, I was blown away. He’d known all along exactly how his behavior was not in line with the WWJD statement on his bracelet. I hugged him and said, “Oh, yes! I’m so proud of you!” I guess we all know when we cross the line. Thank the Lord that He doesn’t put time limits on us! Out of the mouths of babes!!!